After almost 10 years of total silence, Norwegian prog/avantgarde metal act Green 

Carnation announced their comeback to the international metal scene for the 15th anniversary of their cult classic Light of Day, Day of Darkness in 2016. And after a very successful comeback year with festival appearances and special shows both in Europe and North America, the band has now released news that they are composing new material and that they will be doing shows in the period until next album release.

Green Carnation from Kristiansand, Norway, was founded as early as 1990, but after founding member Tchort joined legends-to-be Emperor, for their Darkside Eclipse album, and continued in Satyricon and Einherjer, the band was shut down until their debut album, A Journey To The End Of The Night in 2000. Big parts of the line-up was changed until the bands epic Light of Day, Day of Darkness was released in 2001, and the band changed in a more rock’ish direction with A Blessing in Disguise (2003) and The Quiet Offspring (2005), before the stripped-down Acoustic Verses was released in 2006.

The band is also known for having released on of the more spectacular concert DVDs, recorded in the mountains in Norway, under a 30 meters high water dam, and with audience from all over the world. A Night Under The Dam was also released in 2006.

After the successful comeback in 2016, the band continued to do festivals and special shows  throughout 2017 and 2018, before announcing in September 2019 that they were on their way to the studio to record a new album, their first in 14 years, to be released in 2020. The new album is recorded in DUB Studio, with producer Endre Kirkesola, which also produced their classic, Light of Day, Day of Darkness, and having since worked with bands like Abbath, In Vain and Solefald.

The new album is expected to be released in the first half of 2020.


Kjetil Nordhus (vocals)
Tchort (guitars)
Stein Roger Sordal (bass and vocals)
Bjørn Harstad (guitars)
Kenneth Silden (keyboards and vocals)
Jonathan Alejandro Perez (drums)


1991: Hallucinations of Despair (DEMO)
2000: A Journey To The End Of The Night (ALBUM)
2001: Light of Day, Day of Darkness (ALBUM)
2003: A Blessing In Disguise (ALBUM)
2004: The Trilogy (VINYL BOX-SET)
2004: Alive And Well… In Krakow (DVD)
2005: The Quiet Offspring (ALBUM)
2005: The Burden Is Mine… Alone (EP)
2006: Acoustic Verses (ALBUM)
2007: A Night Under The Dam (DVD)
2018: Last Day of Darkness (DVD)